President Akufo-Addo swears in Council of State individuals

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has sworn in individuals from the Council of State at the Jubilee House in Accra.

This is after the territorial agents to the Council of State were chosen through the management of the Electoral Commission on February 12.

Individuals from the Ghana Council of State as indicated by the 1992 constitution have an order to exhort the president on public issues and administration.

Enrollment of the Council comprises of a previous Chief Justice of Ghana, a previous Chief of Defense Staff and a previous Inspector General of Police.

The President had before named 11 individuals to the gathering.

In a press proclamation endorsed by Eugene Arhin, the Director of Communications at the Jubilee House, it read:

The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, in accordance with Article 89(2) of the Constitution, has named the accompanying eleven (11) people to the Council of State:

<figcaptionET Mensah, Member of Council of State

  1. Nana Otuo Siriboe II, Juabenhene
  2. Ecclesiastical overseer Justice Ofei Akrofi
  3. Mr. Sam Okudzeto
  4. Mr. Stanley Blankson
  5. Prof. Ato Essuman
  6. Alhaji Aminu Amadu
  7. Dr. Margaret Amoakohene
  8. Mrs. Georgina Kusi
  9. Mrs. Alberta Cudjoe
  10. Kuoro Richard Babini Kanton VI
  11. Alhaji Sule Yiremiah

The President, subject to meeting with Parliament, has likewise named, as per Article 89(2)(a)(i)(ii) and (iii), Georgina Theodora Wood, a previous Chief Justice, Lt. Gen. J.B. Danquah, a previous Chief of Defense Staff of the Armed Forces, and Nana Owusu Nsiah, a previous Inspector General of Police, to the Council. The President of the National House of Chiefs, Ogyeahohoo Yaw Gyebi II, is ex-officio an individual from the Council, in facilitation of Article 89(2)(b).

The sythesis of the Council will be finished with the political decision, due to be hung on twelfth February 2021, of the territorial agents, as per Article 89(2)(c).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: