AMAZING: The Only Country With Three Capital Cities.

SOUTH AFRICA, officially the Republic of South Africa, does not have a single capital city. Instead, it divides its governmental powers among three of its major cities: Pretoria, Cape Town, and Bloemfontein. South Africa’s three capital cities are strategically placed throughout the country, each hosting a separate segment of the nation’s government. The South African Parliament resides in Cape Town (the legislative capital), the Supreme Court resides in Bloemfontein (the judicial capital), and the president lives in Pretoria (the administrative capital).

BLOEMFONTEIN (Capital of South Africa)

(also known as Bloem) is the capital city of the province of Free State of South Africa; and, as the judicial capital of the nation, one of South Africa’s three national capitals (the other two being Cape Town, the legislative capital, and Pretoria, the administrative capital) and is the seventh largest city in South Africa.

CAPE TOWN (Capital of South Africa)

Cape Town is the second most populous city in South Africa, after Johannesburg, and also the legislative capital of South Africa. Colloquially named the Mother City, it is the largest city of the Western Cape province and forms part of the City of Cape Town metropolitan municipality. The Parliament of South Africa is situated in Cape Town.

PRETORIA (Capital of South Africa)

Pretoria, also known as Tshwane, is one of South Africa’s three capital cities, serving as the seat of the executive branch of government (Executive capital), and as the host to all foreign embassies to South Africa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: