Who Wins Elections 2020

Ghana’s 2020 general elections is slated for December 7, 2020. The contest is among 12 presidential aspirants who have successfully qualified to run for the general elections. The main contest is between the current President, H.E Nana Akufo-Addo and the former President, H.E John Mahama.

During the balloting for the elections, Mr. John Mahama placed second on the ballot paper whiles Nana Akufo-Addo placed first.

Some supporters of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) believes that, their candidates placing second on the ballot, shows God has ordained his second coming. According to Mr. Sammy Gyamfi, communication officer of the NDC, the second position is a good omen for Mr. John Mahama. He said, the first slot of Nana Akufo-Addo, show his is meant for only one term.

Some supporters of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) also believes the number one position is very good for their candidates, because he can be easily be identified. and it also show he is the winning candidate.

Other candidates in the contest includes Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker an Independent candidate, Christian Kwabena Andrews of Ghana Union Movement (GUM), Brigitte Akosua Dzogbenuku of the Progressive Peoples Party (PPP), Akua Donkor of Ghana Freedom Party (GFP), Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of National Democratic Party (NDP), Hassan Ayariga of All People’s Congress (APC), Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated People’s Party (GCPP), Percival Kofi Akpaloo from the Liberal Party Ghana (LPG) and David Asibi Ayindenaba Apasera of the People’s National Congress (PNC).

Meanwhile, five other contestants, were disqualified from contesting in the elections due to forgery of their documents and other technical issues. These are Kofi Koranteng (Independent Candidate), Mauvrich Kofi Gane (Independent Candidate), Akwasi Addai Odike (United Progressive Party), Kwasi Busumbru (People’s Action Party) and Nana Agyenim Boateng (United Front Party). The Electoral Commission has said, the GHS100,000 filing fee will be refunded back to the disqualified candidates in line with the rules surrounding the process of the elections.

This years contest is going to be a tough one between the two leading candidates. Some believed the sitting president will win and the others also are hoping for the former president. Mr. John Mahama who left power four years ago is hoping to capture power back from the current president. He says the president has performed very poorly since assumption of office in 2016. The current government also is telling the citizens of how they have performed better than the previous government. They talk about the free SHS policy they have implemented, which has given a lot more students the access to senior high school. They also talk about how they have cleaned up the banking sector from collapsing due to the previous government bad leadership decisions; but the John Mahama government has also accused the current government of deliberately targeting and collapsing some banks and radio stations which belongs to their opponent for their selfish gains.

But we leave to see who will come out victorious after the polls on December 7th.

One thought on “Who Wins Elections 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: