Vodafone music awards..Day1 see the winners.

Kofi Kinaata won the Songwriter of the Year Award at the 2020 VGMAs. Photo Credit: Manuel Photography.
The ceremony saw the presentation of industry awards to deserving recipients. They included Traditional Artist of the Year, Instrumentalist of the Year, Sound Engineer of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, African Artist of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement Award.
Hosted by Giovani Caleb and Sika Osei, the event opened with a performance by reggae singer Ras Kuuku. There were also rousing sets from Sista Afia, Eno Barony, Strongman, Kelvyn Boy and ‘Amanfuor Girls’ hitmaker Quamina MP.

The first batch of awards went to Tessa Traditional Group and Emmanuel Bludo, who were awarded for Best Traditional Artist and Instrumentalist of the Year respectively. Kofi Kinaata was named Songwriter of the Year for ‘Things Fall Apart’. Okyeame Kwame picked up the Record of the Year Award while rap duo DopeNation won the Group of the Year Award. Gospel singer MOG was named Best Male Vocalist of the Year and fellow minister Celestine Donkor picked up the Best Female Vocalist of the Year Award – her first-ever VGMA. 

Meanwhile, Burna Boy won the African Artist of the Year Award for the second year in a row. The Lifetime Achievement Award went to highlife pioneer George Darko.

Day 2 of the 2020 VGMAs will take place on 29 August at 8pm GMT. It will stream live on the VGMAs official Facebook page and Charterhouse Live’s YouTube channel. The night will see the announcement of the hotly contested Artist of the Year and Song of the Year awards.
Instrumentalist of the Year
Emmanuel Bludo 
Joshua Moszi
Steve Bedi
Mizter Okyere
Affreh Junior
Anthony Ansah (Khalisax)
Male Vocalist of the Year
Joe Mettle
Kuami Eugene
King Promise
MOG Music

Female Vocalist of the Year
Efe Grace
Celestine Donkor
Songwriter of the Year
King Promise
Kofi Kinaata
Diana Hamilton
Record of the Year
Aka Kee Moko – Trigmatic
Blema Tesaa – Perez Muzik
Bolgatanga – Okyeame Kwame
Oh Me – Lamisi
Sanbra – Akwaboah
Woezor – Worlasi
Dzigbordi – Lord Paper
Best Video of the Year
Killi Mi – Cina Soul
Agbebolo – Celestine Donkor
Bye Bye – RJZ
Ehua – EL
La Familia – Joey B
Yes I Do – Becca
Drip – Medikal
Obiaato – Kuami Eugene
Totori – ZeeTM
Wahala Dey – Epixode
Best Group of the Year
Kwan Pa
Bethel Revival Choir
La Meme Gang
Producer of the Year
Guilty Beats
Two Bars
MOG Beatz
Unkle Beats
Willis Beats
International Collaboration of the Year
Cinderella – KiDi ft Mayorkum & Peruzzi
Lucky by Sarkodie ft Rudebwoy
Yes I Do – Becca ft Tiwa Savage
Father – Medikal ft Davido
Pilolo by Guilty Beats ft Mr Eazi & Kwesi Arthur
Sugar Daddy by KiDi ft Mr Eazi
Nobody by Kwesi Arthur ft Mr. Eazi
Toto Remix by Edem ft Davido
African Artiste of the Year
Burna Boy (Nigeria)
Big Trill (Nigeria)
Teni (Nigeria)
Davido (Nigeria)
Sho Madjozi (South Africa)
Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria)
Rudebwoy (Nigeria)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.