The Five Love Languages

Love languages are a way of expressing love. Typically there are five love languages; Acts of Service, Words Of Affirmation, Physical Touches, Quality Time and Receiving Gifts.

Words Of Affirmation; one way to express love is to use words that build up. Solomon, author of the ancient Hebrew literature wrote; the tongue has the power to life and death. Verbal compliments or words of appreciation are very powerful communicators of love. It can be expressed in simple straightforward statements like, ‘‘you look gorgeous, your food is simply the best, your dress brightens my day.” If your spouse has this love language and its rightfully expressed, she will feel very much loved.

Quality Time

Love can also be expressed through quality time. By quality time I mean giving your partner an undivided attention. Sitting on the couch and looking into each other’s eye. It can also include going for vacations, spending time together.

Receiving Gifts

A gift is an item given to a person without the expectation of anything in return. Its something you can hold in your hand and say, ‘‘look he was thinking of me”, ‘‘he remembered me”. A gift is something that is thought to express love. Most people get elated when they are been given gifts, that might probably be their love language. That’s why it makes them happy.

Acts Of Service

In terms of intimate relationship, acts of service is a language that can best be described as doing something for your partner that you know they will like. It could include helping with the laundry, vacuuming the floor, helping with the garbage and so on. When you give up acts of service, you give up your time, you seek to please your spouse by serving her in order to express your love for her.

Physical Touch

We have long known that, physical touch is a way of expressing emotional love. Research has it that children who are mostly hugged and cuddled develop a healthier emotional love than those who have been left long without physical touch. Its a very powerful communicator to expressing marital love. Hugging kissing and sexual intercourse are all ways of communicating marital love.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.